Edinburgh Uk Parliamentary General Election 2019 Results Announced

Edinburgh Uk Parliamentary General Election 2019 Results Announced

Saturday 4th Jul 2020

The UK Parliamentary General Election results for Edinburgh’s five constituencies have been announced at the Royal Highland Centre.

The Members of Parliament for each constituency are listed in full below and full details of the results are online:

Edinburgh East Constituency: Tommy Sheppard, SNP (majority 10,471)

Edinburgh North & Leith Constituency: Deidre Brock, SNP (majority 12,808)

Edinburgh South Constituency: Ian Murray, Scottish Labour Party (majority 11,095)

Edinburgh South West Constituency: Joanna Cherry, SNP (majority 11,982)

Edinburgh West Constituency: Christine Jardine, Scottish Liberal Democrats (majority 3,769)

Returning Officer Andrew Kerr made the announcement on Friday, 13 December.

He said: “Thanks to all those who helped deliver this election so efficiently and in such a short timescale. In total more than 1,200 people from across the Council worked to manage Thursday’s vote and count and it’s down to them, along with Police Scotland, the candidates and their agents and the media, that the election has run so smoothly.

“I’m pleased that so many people have turned out to participate here in Edinburgh. Thanks to voters for taking the time to have their say."

For further details of the results and the General Election, please see the Elections section of the Council website.